Diamond Registry

貝恩和安特衛普世界鑽石中心 (AWDC) 僅在幾週前發布了年度“全球鑽石行業”報告,稱讚鑽石珠寶行業從大流行的低迷中“復甦”。

該報告涵蓋了從生產到消費者銷售的整個鑽石價值鏈,“2021 年,鑽石開採部門的收入同比增長 62%,切割和拋光收入增長 55%,鑽石收入增長 29%珠寶零售——均高於大流行前的水平,分別為+13%、+16%、+11%。”

展望今年,它預計將繼續強勁增長,增長水平高於大流行爆發前的時期。 “預計到 2022 年上半年,對鑽石首飾以及拋光和毛坯鑽石的需求將增長。”

那些是日子,這就是現在。

然而,由於烏克蘭戰爭的爆發以及隨之而來的對俄羅斯的經濟制裁,毛坯鑽石的供應可能會減少 25% 以上。這是因為俄羅斯擁有的世界上最大的鑽石生產商 Alrosa 已被列入製裁名單。

美國財政部估計,Alrosa 負責俄羅斯 90% 的鑽石生產,佔世界鑽石總供應量的 28%。 Alrosa 由俄羅斯政府擁有 33% 的股份,另外 33% 的股份由公司總部所在的俄羅斯薩哈共和國持有。此外,Alrosa 首席執行官 Sergey Ivanov Jr. 已被添加到美國政府制裁的特別指定國民名單中。

該行業的珠寶商警戒委員會 (JVC) 建議,“實際上,該行動禁止美國企業和個人與 Alrosa 進行超過 14 天的債務交易,但並未實施資產凍結和徹底禁止所有商業。”

“對於珠寶行業,任何之前簽訂的期限超過 14 天的開放式備忘錄協議都應立即修改以縮短條款,和/或關閉。”合資公司繼續。但財政部表示,財政部的命令不適用於 2 月 24 日之前從 Alrosa 或 Alrosa USA 購買的商品。

代表 AWDC 發言時,Tom Neys 說:“制裁會對鑽石業務產生重大影響。這是一個應該傷害俄羅斯的打擊,但我們有可能對自己造成更大的傷害。俄羅斯人可以輕鬆地與非歐盟國家進行鑽石交易。”

據貝恩 (Bain) 稱,鑽石珠寶行業正以 2900 萬克拉的供應量進入這一年。報告稱:“由於需求旺盛和生產復甦緩慢,上游庫存下降了約 40%,接近最低技術水平。”

依法供需

即使價格上漲,消費者對鑽石首飾的需求仍在繼續增長,預計到 2021 年,鑽石首飾的銷售額將達到 840 億美元。根據 Rapaport 的 RapNet 鑽石指數,一克拉鑽石的平均價格比去年同期上漲了 17.4% 2021 年全年。價格也繼續上漲,1 月份上漲 6.9%。

要感受到俄羅斯制裁的下游影響還需要一段時間,但幾乎可以肯定的是,鑽石和鑽石首飾的價格會上漲。

即使不考慮俄羅斯在烏克蘭的戰爭將對消費者信心和支出產生的宏觀經濟影響,即使鑽石珠寶價格上漲,如果不能完全逆轉,也可能會擱置該行業在大流行後的複蘇。

此外,不斷上漲的鑽石價格可能會為實驗室培育鑽石 (LGD) 市場帶來可喜的推動力。實驗室培育鑽石 (LGD) 的價格已經大大低於同類天然開採鑽石的價格——根據貝恩的說法,到 2021 年,實驗室培育鑽石的平均零售價將比天然鑽石價格低 30%——而且人造鑽石的供應隨著更多生產能力的上線和技術的進步,人造石正在增加。

隨著價格差距的擴大,以前不願考慮 LGD 的消費者現在可能更願意這樣做。另一方面,供求規律並不總是適用於奢侈品。

19 世紀經濟學家托爾斯坦·凡勃倫 (Thorstein Veblen) 在其 1895 年出版的《有閒階級理論》一書中完成了有關該主題的開創性工作。由於它們的社會信號價值,或者它們成為身份象徵的事實,凡勃倫發現,消費者對奢侈品的需求隨著價格上漲而增加。

“實驗室製造的鑽石繼續分化為一個單獨的、更實惠的珠寶類別。”根據貝恩公司的說法。換句話說,天然鑽石首飾被認為是奢侈品,而實驗室製造的鑽石首飾被認為是大規模生產的。

不過,這一區別今年可能會受到考驗。如果開採鑽石的價格繼續上漲,兩者之間的分歧可能會在不久的將來趨於一致。

獎金!

借助 Diamond Registry 的綜合方法和廣泛的全球行業聯繫,輕鬆銷售您的鑽石,幫助您快速為您的鑽石找到最佳買家。訪問 www.diamondregistry.com/sell-your-ring 邁出快速、簡單、可靠的鑽石銷售方式的第一步。

想立即檢查和計算每克拉鑽石嗎?前往 DR 的鑽石價格計算器 www.diamondregistry.com/diamond-price-list/#calc-move-to 了解如何。從此成為鑽石行業可靠且值得信賴的克拉計算器!

免費報價

Submit your details and our experts will contact you with price information

Call Us

New York Office

Phone: +1 917 539 9007

Hong Kong Office

Phone:+852 9248 4222
diamond registry logo diamond registry logo About Us
  • Diamond Registry
  • Guides
  • The Diamond Jewelry Industry is on the Verge as Russia's Sanctions Threaten to Influence Diamond Supply

The Diamond Jewelry Industry is on the Verge as Russia's Sanctions Threaten to Influence Diamond Supply

wedding ring engagement ring diamond jewelry

Bain and the Antwerp World Diamond Center (AWDC) released their annual "Global Diamond Industry" report just a few weeks ago, praising the diamond jewelry industry's "brilliant recovery" from the pandemic downturn.

The report covered the entire diamond value chain, from production to consumer sales, “In 2021, revenue increased 62% [year-over-year] in the diamond mining segment, 55% for cutting and polishing and 29% for diamond jewelry retail – all rising above pre-pandemic levels, +13%, +16%, +11% respectively.”

Looking ahead to this year, it predicted continued strong growth at a higher level than during the period prior to the pandemic outbreak. “Demand for diamond jewelry and polished and rough diamonds is expected to grow through the first half of 2022.”

Those Were The Days, And This Is The Present.

Nevertheless, as a result of the outbreak of war in Ukraine and the ensuing economic sanctions against Russia, the supply of rough diamonds may be reduced by more than 25%. This is because Russian-owned Alrosa, the world's largest diamond producer by volume, has been placed on the sanctions list.

The United States Treasury estimates that Alrosa is responsible for 90 percent of Russia's diamond production and accounts for 28 percent of the world's total diamond supply. Alrosa is owned by the Russian government to the tune of 33 percent, with another 33 percent held by the Russian Republic of Sakha, where the company's headquarters are located. In addition, Alrosa CEO Sergey Ivanov Jr. has been added to the list of specifically designated nationals sanctioned by the United States government.

The industry’s Jewelers Vigilance Committee (JVC) advised, “Effectively, this action bans U.S. businesses and persons from entering into debt transactions longer than 14 days with Alrosa but does not impose the harsher sanctions of an asset freeze and outright prohibition of all business.”

“For the jewelry industry, any open memo agreements previously entered into with terms longer than 14 days should immediately be amended to shorten the terms, and/or closed.” the JVC continued. But the order from the Treasury does not apply to goods purchased from Alrosa or Alrosa USA before February 24, according to the Treasury.

Speaking on behalf of the AWDC, Tom Neys said, “Sanctions can have a significant impact on the diamond business. It is a blow that should hurt Russia, but there is a chance that we do more damage to ourselves. The Russians can easily trade their diamonds with non-EU countries.”

The diamond jewelry industry is entering the year with a supply of 29 million carats, according to Bain. “Upstream inventories declined ~40%, driven by high demand and slow production recovery, and are near the minimal technical level,” the report stated.

Supply And Demand By Law

Consumer demand for diamond jewelry continued to grow even as prices rose, with sales of diamond jewelry expected to reach $84 billion by 2021. According to Rapaport's RapNet Diamond Index, the average price of a one-carat diamond increased by 17.4 percent over the course of the year 2021. Prices have also continued to rise, rising 6.9 percent in January.

It will take some time before the downstream effects of Russian sanctions are felt, but higher prices for diamonds and diamond jewelry are almost certain to follow.

Even without taking into consideration the macroeconomic impact that Russia's war in Ukraine will have on consumer sentiment and spending, even higher prices for diamond jewelry could put the industry's post-pandemic recovery on hold, if not reverse it entirely.

Additionally, rising diamond prices may provide a welcome boost to the lab-grown diamond (LGD) market. Prices for lab-grown diamonds (LGDs) are already significantly lower than those for comparable natural mined diamonds – according to Bain, the average polished lab-grown retail price will be 30 percent lower than natural diamond prices by 2021 – and supplies of man-made stones are increasing as more production capacity is brought online and technology advances.

Consumers who were previously hesitant to consider LGDs may now be more willing to do so as the price disparity widens. The law of supply and demand, on the other hand, does not always apply in the case of luxury goods.

The seminal work on the subject was done by the 19th-century economist Thorstein Veblen in his book The Theory of the Leisure Class, which was published in 1895. Because of their social signaling value, or the fact that they become status symbols, Veblen discovered that consumer demand for luxury goods increased in tandem with price increases.

“Lab-grown diamonds continued to diverge into a separate, more affordable jewelry category.” according to Bain & Company. In other words, natural diamond jewelry is considered a luxury, whereas laboratory-grown diamond jewelry is considered mass-produced.

However, that distinction may be put to the test this year. If the price of mined diamonds continues to rise, what has been a growing divergence between the two could become a convergence in the near future.

Bonus!

Sell your diamonds with ease with Diamond Registry’s comprehensive approach and vast global industry connections to help you find the best buyer for your diamond fast. Visit www.diamondregistry.com/sell-your-ring to take your first step to fast, easy and reliable way of selling your diamond.

Want to check and calculate diamond per carat instantly? Go to DR’s diamond price calculator www.diamondregistry.com/diamond-price-list/#calc-move-to to know how. Reliable and trusted carat calculator in the diamond industry since!

Jewelry
Color range: i
  • D Color
  • E Color
  • F Color
  • G Color
  • I Color
  • J Color
  • K Color
  • D Color
  • E Color
  • F Color
  • G Color
  • I Color
  • J Color
  • K Color
Clarity: i
  • I.F.
  • VVS1
  • VVS2
  • VS1
  • VS2
  • SI1
  • SI2
  • I.F.
  • VVS1
  • VVS2
  • VS1
  • VS2
  • SI1
  • SI2
Color: Color i
Color intensity:  Faint - Fancy i
  • Faint
  • Faint
  • Very Light
  • Light
  • Fancy Light
  • Fancy
  • Fancy Intense
  • Fancy Vivid
  • Fancy Deep
  • Faint
  • Faint
  • Very Light
  • Light
  • Fancy Light
  • Fancy
  • Fancy Intense
  • Fancy Vivid
  • Fancy Deep
FREE QUOTE
Check the Wholesale Price
Weight (carat):  1 carat
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Shape: i
Free Wholesale Quote
Submit your details and our experts will contact you with price information
Free Wholesale Quote