Diamond Registry

通過算法指導我們在線和離線的行為,人工智能 (AI) 對我們的思考、工作、娛樂和互動方式產生了影響。現在,人工智能正在為鑽石分級過程帶來科學的精確度和計算機化的分析,這在傳統上是主觀和手動的。

倫敦實驗室 International Gemological Reports 的首席寶石學家 Zhanna Beissekova 表示,人工智能輔助分級的興起對行業和消費者 (IGR) 來說是一個積極的發展。 “淨度分級是檢查寶石最耗時的部分,尤其是對於 SI 和低淨度的寶石。這項技術可以幫助實驗室提高效率並在更短的時間內對更多鑽石進行分級,讓寶石學家專注於工作的其他方面。”

此外,她解釋說,它可以使偽造分級報告變得更加困難,並幫助鑽石生產商將寶石分類為與最合適的銷售市場相對應的子類別。

Debbie Azar 承認有優勢。 “鑽石行業想要並且需要一種方法來對鑽石進行分級,這種方法比人類所能提供的更加一致、準確和可重複,”位於紐約的寶石學科學國際 (GSI) 分級實驗室 (GSI) 的聯合創始人兼主任說,該實驗室是基於人工智能。

但是,這並不意味著人工評分員將因 AI 輔助流程而被淘汰。 “與所有行業一樣,技術的發展意味著勞動力的適應,”阿扎解釋道。 “人類鑽石分級師可能需要提高技能來學習如何操作這項技術,或者找到不同的方法來促進這一過程,例如遠程篩選鑽石。隨著技術的轉變,人們有很多機會以不同但有價值的方式應用他們的專業知識和經驗。”

“第一個評估 D 到 Z 鑽石顏色的鑽石色度計是在 1940 年代開發的,所以說真的,自動鑽石分級並不是什麼新鮮事。”她指出。

對目標的清晰理解

1940 年代也是美國寶石學院 (GIA) 開始開發稱為 4C 的鑽石分級系統的十年,該系統代表切工、顏色、淨度和克拉重量。它於 1955 年開始發布鑽石分級報告,4Cs 模型仍然是當今世界上使用最廣泛和公認的鑽石分級系統。

從那時起,該研究所與計算巨頭 IBM 合作開發了自己的自動清晰度分級系統,供研究人員使用。預計該專有系統將於 2020 年在 GIA 鑑定所實施。

美國寶石學院高級副總裁兼首席運營官 Pritesh Patel 表示,IBM “將人工智能和機器學習方面的專業知識添加到我們無與倫比的數以千萬計鑽石淨度信息數據集中,以及GIA 專家分級師的技能”,以及 GIA 專家分級師的技能。預計讓人工評分員審查和驗證來自 AI 系統的每條建議將提高建議的精確度和準確性。

美國寶石學院執行副總裁兼首席實驗室和研究官 Tom Moses 表示:“每天流經我們實驗室的鑽石河流提供了一個獨特的機會,可以看到範圍廣泛的 [標本],導致在一個強大的、訓練有素的人工智能係統中,”

據 GIA 發言人稱,該研究所正在尋求擴展其自動化,以包括評估花哨的顏色。 “基於我們多年來在儀器支持的 D 到 Z 鑽石顏色分級方面的經驗,我們正在開發算法來支持彩鑽的分級。”他說。

另一方面,Moses 強調“我們的專業鑑定所工作人員將始終是我們鑽石分級過程的關鍵部分。隨著我們開發更多儀器來支持這一過程,從稱重寶石到掃描比例再到協助顏色分級,鑽石分級師將能夠專注於更複雜的分級方面以及新的服務。”

Sarine Clarity 系統由以色列的 Sarine Technologies 開發,是 GIA 在人工智能部門的競爭對手(見方框)。當檢測到鑽石內含物和瑕疵時,機器會自動映射它們。這消除了主觀人類感知可能產生的任何不一致。與 GIA 一樣,Sarine 分級系統的算法是一組研究各種拋光鑽石的寶石學家多年研究的結果,機器學習基於從這些鑽石獲得的測量值提供了進一步的改進。

探索自然的問題

在評估人工智能輔助鑽石分級程序時,最重要的問題之一是“程序的算法如何工作?”阿扎爾說。鑑於計算機只是處理輸入給它們的數據這一事實——早期的 IBM 程序員 George Fuechsel 將這種情況稱為“垃圾輸入,垃圾輸出”——Azar 建議詢問輸入計算機的數據類型。

其他注意事項,例如硬件細節、照明條件、方向和評估方法,也有助於了解和理解。 “你能告訴我評分標準嗎?”她問。儘管最終評估是正面朝上的,但鑽石是由人類分級員在所有三個維度上檢查的三維物體。她還建議確認該計劃用於建立比較寶石基線的方法。

Azar 繼續說,人工智能係統使用的相機和傳感器必須足夠靈敏,才能準確區分更高的淨度等級,而且 GIA 和 Sarine 都擁有最先進的儀器來完成這一任務。

確實,自 1375 年第一個鑽石切割師和拋光師協會在德國紐倫堡成立以來,鑽石分級的藝術和科學一直在穩步進步和提高。現在沒有回頭路了,自動分級系統正在以驚人的速度產生越來越客觀的分析。

Sarine 處於技術的最前沿。

Sarine Technologies 於 1992 年在以色列城市 Hod Hasharon 成立,是一家上市公司,自推出 DiaMension 技術以來一直專注於計算機化鑽石分級系統。該公司聲稱,DiaMension 是第一個提供鑽石比例自動測量的切工分級系統,這對鑽石的整體切工質量有重大影響。

今天,Sarine 還提供 AI 輔助電子分級系統,該系統涵蓋光性能和除 4C 之外的其他指標。 Sarine 認為,鑽石的光性能——衡量寶石與光的相互作用的指標——是確定寶石視覺吸引力的最準確、最全面的方法。

eGrading 無需將鑽石送到鑑定所,從而節省了第三方評估和保險的成本,以及為鑽石分級所花費的時間和人力。該系統縮短了完成評分請求所需的時間,並且可以輕鬆處理大型請求。此外,由於其參數超出了 4C 標準,eGrading 允許買家採購更具體的寶石,從而形成更高效的供應鏈。

在顏色方面,eGrading 可以幫助您獲得更準確的結果。用 Sarine 的網站的話來說,“手動顏色分級的誤差範圍不僅在不同的寶石學家之間,而且在同一寶石學家的不同工作會話之間都存在。”

同樣,在淨度方面,基於 AI 的 Sarine Clarity 系統可以繪製鑽石內含物和瑕疵圖,從而消除分級過程這方面存在的人為不一致問題。同時,Sarine Diamond Reports 以引人注目的動態方式呈現鑽石的信息,通過交互式數字顯示屏提供分級信息,從而教育消費者。

免費報價

Submit your details and our experts will contact you with price information

Call Us

New York Office

Phone: +1 917 539 9007

Hong Kong Office

Phone:+852 9248 4222
diamond registry logo diamond registry logo About Us

The Age of Artificial Intelligence: Automated Diamond Grading

diamond rings

With algorithms guiding our actions both online and offline, artificial intelligence (AI) has an impact on the way we think, work, play, and interact with one another. Now, artificial intelligence is bringing scientific precision and computerized analysis to the diamond grading process, which has traditionally been subjective and manual.

According to Zhanna Beissekova, head gemologist at London-based lab International Gemological Reports, the rise of artificial intelligence-assisted grading is a positive development for the industry and consumers (IGR). “Clarity grading is the most time-consuming part of examining the stone, especially when it comes to SI- and lower-clarity stones. This technology can help laboratories increase efficiency and grade more diamonds in less time, leaving gemologists to focus on other aspects of the job.”

Furthermore, she explains, it can make it more difficult to fabricate bogus grading reports, as well as aid diamond producers in categorizing stones into subcategories that correspond to the most appropriate sales markets.

Debbie Azar acknowledges that there are advantages. “The diamond trade wants and needs a way to grade diamonds that’s more consistent, accurate, and repeatable than what humans can provide,” says the co-founder and director of New York-based grading lab Gemological Science International (GSI), which is based on artificial intelligence.

However, this does not imply that human graders will be phased out as a result of the AI-assisted process. “As in all industries, development of technology means workforce adaptation,” Azar explains. “Human diamond graders may have to upskill to learn how to operate the technology, or find different ways to contribute to the process, such as screening diamonds remotely. There are lots of opportunities, as technology shifts, for people to apply their specialized knowledge and experience in different but valuable ways.”

“the first diamond colorimeters to assess D to Z diamond color were developed in the 1940s, so really, automated diamond grading is nothing new.” she points out.

A Clear Understanding Of The Goal

The 1940s were also the decade in which the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) began developing the diamond grading system known as the 4Cs, which stands for cut, color, clarity, and carat weight. It began issuing diamond grading reports in 1955, and the 4Cs model is still the most widely used and recognized diamond grading system in the world today.

Since then, the institute has collaborated with computing giant IBM to develop its own automated clarity-grading system for use by researchers. It is anticipated that the proprietary system will be implemented at the GIA labs in 2020.

According to Pritesh Patel, senior vice president and chief operating officer of the Gemological Institute of America, IBM “added expertise in artificial intelligence and machine learning to our unparalleled data set of clarity information on tens of millions of diamonds, along with the skills of the GIA’s expert graders,” in addition to the skills of the GIA's expert graders. It is anticipated that having human graders review and validate each recommendation from the AI system will improve the precision and accuracy of the recommendations.

According to Tom Moses, the Gemological Institute of America's executive vice president and chief laboratory and research officer, “The river of diamonds that flows through our laboratories every day provides a unique opportunity to see a wide range of [specimens], resulting in a robust, well-trained AI system,”

According to a GIA spokesman, the institute is looking to expand its automation to include evaluating fancy colors as well. “Based on our years of experience with instrument-supported color grading of D to Z diamonds, we are developing algorithms to support grading of fancy-colored diamonds.” he says.

Moses, on the other hand, emphasizes that “our expert laboratory staff will always be a crucial part of our diamond grading process. As we develop more instrumentation to support that process, for everything from weighing stones to scanning for proportions to assisting with color grading, diamond graders will be able to focus on more complex aspects of grading, along with new services.”

The Sarine Clarity system, developed by Israel-based Sarine Technologies, is a competitor of the GIA in the artificial intelligence department (see box). When diamond inclusions and blemishes are detected, the machine automatically maps them. This eliminates any inconsistencies that might arise from subjective human perception. The algorithm for Sarine's grading system, like the GIA's, is the result of years of research by a team of gemologists who studied a variety of polished diamonds, with further enhancement provided by machine learning based on the measurements obtained from those diamonds.

Questions That Are Probing In Nature

When evaluating an artificial intelligence-assisted diamond grading program, one of the most important questions to ask is, "How do the program's algorithms work?" says Azar. In light of the fact that computers simply process the data that is fed to them — a situation that early IBM programmer George Fuechsel famously described as "garbage in, garbage out" — Azar recommends asking what type of data is being fed into the computer.

Other considerations, such as hardware specifics, lighting conditions, orientation, and the assessment methodology, are also beneficial to be aware of and understand. "Can you tell me about the grading standards?" she inquires. Despite the fact that the final assessment is made face-up, diamonds are three-dimensional objects that are examined by human graders in all three dimensions. She also recommends that the program's methodology for establishing a baseline for comparing the stones be confirmed.

Azar goes on to say that the cameras and sensors that the AI systems use must be sensitive enough to accurately distinguish higher clarity grades, and that both the GIA and Sarine have state-of-the-art instrumentation to accomplish this.

Indeed, ever since the founding of the first guild of diamond cutters and polishers in Nuremberg, Germany, in 1375, the art and science of diamond grading have been steadily progressing and improving. There is no going back now that automated grading systems are producing increasingly objective analyses at breakneck speeds.

Sarine Is On The Cutting Edge Of Technology.

Founded in the Israeli city of Hod Hasharon in 1992, Sarine Technologies is a publicly traded company that has specialized in computerized diamond grading systems since the introduction of its DiaMension technology. DiaMension, the company claims, was the first cut-grading system to provide automated measurements of a diamond's proportions, which have a significant impact on a stone's overall cut quality.

The AI-assisted eGrading system, which covers light performance and other metrics in addition to the 4Cs, is also available from Sarine today. According to Sarine, the light performance of a diamond — which is a measurement of the stone's interaction with light — is the most accurate and comprehensive way to determine the stone's visual attractiveness.

eGrading eliminates the need to send diamonds to a laboratory, saving on the costs of third-party evaluation and insurance, as well as on time and labor spent on grading the stones. The system shortens the time it takes to complete grading requests and can handle large-scale requests with ease. Furthermore, because its parameters extend beyond the 4Cs, eGrading allows buyers to source more specific stones, resulting in a more efficient supply chain.

When it comes to color, eGrading can help you get more accurate results. In the words of Sarine's website, “error margins in manual color grading are noted not just between different gemologists, but between different work sessions of the same gemologist.”

Similarly, on the clarity front, the AI-based Sarine Clarity system can map diamond inclusions and blemishes, thereby eliminating the issue of human inconsistency that exists in this aspect of the grading process. Meanwhile, Sarine Diamond Reports present a stone's information in an eye-catching, dynamic manner that can educate the consumer by delivering grading information through an interactive digital display.

Jewelry
Color range: i
  • D Color
  • E Color
  • F Color
  • G Color
  • I Color
  • J Color
  • K Color
  • D Color
  • E Color
  • F Color
  • G Color
  • I Color
  • J Color
  • K Color
Clarity: i
  • I.F.
  • VVS1
  • VVS2
  • VS1
  • VS2
  • SI1
  • SI2
  • I.F.
  • VVS1
  • VVS2
  • VS1
  • VS2
  • SI1
  • SI2
Color: Color i
Color intensity:  Faint - Fancy i
  • Faint
  • Faint
  • Very Light
  • Light
  • Fancy Light
  • Fancy
  • Fancy Intense
  • Fancy Vivid
  • Fancy Deep
  • Faint
  • Faint
  • Very Light
  • Light
  • Fancy Light
  • Fancy
  • Fancy Intense
  • Fancy Vivid
  • Fancy Deep
FREE QUOTE
Check the Wholesale Price
Weight (carat):  1 carat
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Shape: i
Check Price Now
Submit your details and our experts will contact you with price information
Get free quote