Tell Us More

Share a bit more information with us
to finalize your Free Quote request.

You are looking for information regarding:

2 to 10+ carat
Round Diamond
United States Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Chinese Taipei Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic East Timor Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Republic of Korea (South) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palestinian Territory, Occupied Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Republic of China Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Serbia and Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Minor Outlying Islands Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe

Beyond The Letters and Numbers

As part of the 4Cs, diamond clarity is one of the main quality features of a diamond that determine its rarity and eventually its final diamond price. Clarity is a grade that refers to how perfect or imperfect the diamond is both internally in the form of inclusions and externally looking at blemishes. The higher the clarity grade, the less imperfections and the cleaner the diamond is. Most diamonds will have some internal imperfections because it’s simply part of the natural formation process – in fact, some even refer to those inclusions as birthmarks.

Diamond clarity grading scale

When determining the clarity scale, diamond experts look at various elements which in total add to the final clarity grade assigned to the diamond. This includes not only the presence of inclusions or blemishes as imperfections, but also the size, type and locations of these imperfections. For example, an inclusion on the side of a diamond and somewhat hidden when wearing the diamond as a ring will not have the same effect on the diamond price as an inclusion in the center of the table and clearly visible when wearing it as jewelry.

When the GIA grades diamonds for their diamond grading reports, diamond clarity is defined along a scale ranging from Flawless to Imperfect. Let’s take a look at what each of these grades mean for your diamond:

(FL) Flawless: The very ultimate grade in diamond clarity. These diamonds have no imperfections at all – even under 10x magnification – and are in very high demand. The bigger the diamond, the more value this diamond grade because a clean look becomes even more important.

(IF) Internally Flawless: A diamond with this grade will have no clearly visible imperfections, but an experienced diamond grader will be able to see some imperfections under 10x magnification. This is a popular diamond grade for diamonds bigger than When you get anything above a 3 carat as the clean look is simply amazing.

(VVS1, VVS2) Very Very Slightly Imperfect: While these diamond will have some form of inclusions under 10x magnification, they will appear clean when looking at them without magnification. This clarity grade is one of the more common grades for diamond jewelry as it strikes the right balance between price and visually stunning appearance. Buyers of diamonds below 2 carats often choose this clarity grade.

(VS1, VS2) Very Slightly Imperfect: Inclusions and blemishes become slightly easier to see under 10x magnification. The most common imperfections include crystals, clouds or feathers. However, how much it affects the look of the diamond depends on the location of the imperfections.

(SI1, SI2) Slightly Imperfect: Starting from this clarity grade, cavities, knots, clouds, feathers and crystals can be quite easy to spot and significantly lowers the price of the diamond. It helps lower the price if you’re more focused on the size of the diamond while trying to stay within your budget.

(I1, I2, I3) Imperfect: Not a common clarity grade for diamonds intended to be worn as jewelry as the imperfections are too obvious and take away from the overall beauty. It can have a strong effect on the brilliance and sparkle of the diamond.

Related Articles

What are Type IIa or IIb for diamonds?

What are Type IIa or IIb for diamonds?

The Difference Between Real Diamonds & Lab-Grown Diamonds

The Difference Between Real Diamonds & Lab-Grown Diamonds

Things to consider when you buy loose diamonds

Things to consider when you buy loose diamonds

WhatsApp chat